Overnght leader Frank Dineen duly won the Irish Open at R.G.S.C. but he was made to fight all the way by fellow Irishman Stephen Murray of Old County. Stephen Murray fired a fabulous closing round of six under par 48 to post the clubhouse target of 148 for the three rounds. 2008 Irish Strokeplay champion Frank Dineen was not playing as well as he did on Saturday and was one shot behind with one hole to play. The St. Anne's ace pitched to within four feet of the final hole of the regulation 54 and calmly slotted the birdie putt to force a play-off. Stephen Murray held the early advantage in that three hole play-off. Frank bogeyed the first, having chipped too strongly. Inexplicably, Dubliner Stephen Murray missed from inside two feet for par at the second and the pair were level playing the last. Frank pitched close and made the birdie putt for a famous win.

Paul O'Brien also closed with a fine 48 to place third on 149, one out of the play-off. On a showery, if reasonably warm Sunday, Tralee's Jason O'Regan shot a final round 48 to clinch fourth slot on 150, just ahead of O'Brien's Tipperary county colleague, Brian Webster, who also returned 12 under for the three rounds. Britain's John Deeble was best non- Irish player on 104. Chrissie Byrne made it two Irish Ladies Opens out of two. The St. Bridget's star closed with a 53 for a five under par 157 aggregate. That was good enough for a four shot win over her Irish colleagues, Tracey McGrath and Geraldine Ward. Current Irish Strokeplay and Matchplay champion Tracey McGrath secured second place by virtue of her superb final round 49.

Final leaderboard from the PPUI site....
Click here..

Sunday's final round pairings....
Click here..

At the close of the first day's play at R.G.S.C., 2008 Irish Strokeplay champion Frank Dineen led on 95 for 36 holes.  Frank's superb second round of eight under 46 left him three clear overnight from Darren Kane and Ian Dillon both on 98.  Chris Scannell, Darren O'Reilly and Darren Goodall were on 99.  Brian Webster, John McGrath, Jonathan Goodall, Ray Murphy and Stephen Murray all scored 100, while John Crangle, Terry McMorrow and Paul O'Brien were still just in touch on 101.

Defending champion Chrissie Byrne leds the ladies on 104, ahead of Geraldine Ward  who fired 106, Tara Dillon (109) and Tracey McGrath (112).  Britain's John Deeblewas the best played non Irish player with 102.

The Irish Open went ahead this morning although inevitably there have been some defections due to the recent travel restrictions.

After 18 holes Darren Kane (the nephew of former long serving PPUI official Peg Smith) led on 47.  Five players (including three Kerrymen) were on 48 - Darren Goodall, Jonathan Goodall, Jason O Regan, Eoin Mithen and Ian Dillon.  James McLoughlin, Gavin Carty, Damian Mullaney, Frank Dineen, Stephen Murray and Ray Murphy shot 49 while holder Damien Fleming was on 50.  The 2009 winner shared that mark with a huge group - Larry McGinn, Brian Webster, Laurence Maher, John Crangle, Chris Scannell, Chrissie Byrne, Geraldine Ward, William Buckley Jr., Kenneth Kerin, Kieron Morrissey, Steven Keegan and Darren Thornberry.

Here's a link to the revised draw on the PPUI site.....
Click here..

Course of the Month.

Vallromanes, Catalonia

Web Sponsors.

Forat 18 International Pitch and Putt magazine
N.M.P.L. - Loan Agencies in Shreveport LA
for more information...

Recent Major Events.

Copyright © 2006-2014 FIPPA - International Pitch and Putt Federation
For enquiries about this website CLICK HERE