Dutch players won three of the four titles on offer at Bussloo. Third last year and runner-up in France in 2008, Rolf Kwant duly won his first international Open title when he closed with a 50 on Sunday. That gave Rolf a 24 under par aggregate of 138 and left him five shots clear of the field. Liam O'Donovan (Ireland), who was third in the inaugural Dutch Open six years ago, fired a final round 47 for 143. O'Donovan finished a sngle stroke ahead of holder Ian Farrelly (Ireland), who gets closer to Alan Hanlon at the top of the list of the most successful players internationally.

Despite falling short of her Saturday standard, 2009 champion Herma Kleinlugtenbeld (Holland) was a two stroke winner of the ladies event. Herma's final 18 59 gave her a four under 158 for the 54 holes. That was two clear of colleague Esther de Schiffart. The Dutch also dominated the junior open. Melvin Slaats maintained his overnight advantage with a 52 for 151, five ahead of Jeroen Huberts, who was round in 50 on Sunday. Lluis Grife (Catalonia) took senior laurels. His final round of 57 just held off 36 hole leader Bernhard Struyck (Holland) who shot 59 on Sunday.

Final Leaderboard from the Bussloo course
It was the Rolf Kwant show on Saturday at Bussloo with the Dutchman five clear overnight after a second successive 44. Kwant's 20 under 88 total was five clear of fellow Dutch player Patrick Luning, who fired a 44 of his own in the second round. 2009 champion Ian Farrelly (Ireland) was leading non Dutchman on -13 while former Irish Strokeplay champion Liam O'Donovan was 12 under, the same mark as Pacelli Darcy.

Herma Kleinlugtenbeld (Holland) was poised to retain her ladies trophy after a superb second round 49. She was eight under after 36 holes and eight clear of Dutch colleague Esther de Schiffart. Bernhard Struyck was ultra consistent in the seniors' event. His second successive 51 left him one ahead of first round leader, Catalan Luis Grife. Completing the then Dutch clean sweep, junior Melvin Slaats (Holland) carded a fabulous 46 in the second round to lead on 99. Jeroen Huberts was next best on 106.

Rolf Kwant fired a terrific ten under par first round 44 to lead by three shots from fellow Dutch player Henk Risk Koetsier and Ireland's Liam O'Donovan. Two more Irishmen, Pacelli Darcy and international Open specialist Ian Farrelly (the 2009 winner) were poised on 48.

Holder Herma Kleinlugtenbeld (Holland) and Abby Nachson (Catalonia) led the ladies event on 51, three clear of Liz Quinn (Ireland). Jeroen Huberts (Holland) led the junior (under 16) open on two under par while Catalan Lluis Grife shot a fine 48 to lead the seniors by three.

Course of the Month.

Bagenalstown, Ireland

Web Sponsors.

Forat 18 International Pitch and Putt magazine
1PLs Company - Small Payday Loans
for more information...

Recent Major Events.

Copyright © 2024 FIPPA - International Pitch and Putt Federation
For enquiries about this website CLICK HERE